I Wanna Be Down

So I was talking to a co-worker (who is also a good friend) and she invited me to be part of a new professional work group. The work group is to pursue reproductive rights and address sexual health issues within my state. How does this apply to me with be wanting to start a non-profit in maternal child health? Well, the work group will address issues such as diversity in receiving health care services, more communication between doctors, midwives, lactation counselors, doulas, nurses, so and so forth, and better birthing outcomes.

All of these things somewhat align with my vision. I not only want women of lower socioeconomic backgrounds to be well versed about things such as child-birth and lactation education; but I want ALL health care professionals to also be educated about these things as well. This sounds like such a HUGE undertaking. #sigh I can’t go at this alone. Plus, I need network with ‘like-minded’ individuals. This is a great way to branch out and meet new people. The universe is really jumping up to meet me where I am.

Let’s see how this works out.

4 thoughts on “I Wanna Be Down

  1. I say don’t be intimidated by how “big” of a task it seems. Start small! That’s what I plan to do with my own service goal to help high school students fully be prepared for life after high school whether it’s college, the workforce, a trade school etc. I’m going to start small by constructing an after school program and teaching it at Girls Inc (at least that’s what I plan). I also want to use this Training and Development degree by making an online training course of it as well. Eventually I want to broaden it to a nonprofit that will help anybody no matter their stage in life to figure out their career goals/purpose for free. I never understood why there were agencies that charged people to help them figure our their future. I’d rather do it for free and if they want to donate, they can. Do what you can with what you can and leave the rest up to God to help push it on through =)

  2. Thanks so much for your insight. 🙂

  3. Awesome vision. It is needed in our hometown and surrounding areas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

