Started from the Bottom..

A few weeks I had a bright idea to start a blog about writing about this experience. But my question right after that was, “When will have the time?” God kinda answered that question for me.

I guess I should explain a few things about myself. I’m a public health employee that has worked for an infant mortality program for over 5 years. I provide nutrition/breastfeeding education to women and their families. I also provide breastfeeding education to mothers who are interested and counsel those who need lactation assistance. Although I love what I do, I have put myself in a career corner. I have a bachelor’s degree in Nutrition/Dietetics  but I am not nutritionist. What does that mean? That means I completed the the undergrad courses for the nutrition/dietetics program but I did not get into a Dietetics Internship. (Which is a whole ‘nother posting). So I began a career in research for a little while and that didn’t pan out as I had hoped (which is also a whole nother posting). Which brought me to the job I currently work in and the job I want to get out of so badly. #Sigh

I’m so bored with this job. So bored that I spend quite a bit of time on social media. I seriously have an addiction. My guess is in 3 to 4 years there will be a Social Media Addicts Anonymous. I will be the first to attend and complete my 12 steps.

But anyway….

As a result of my complete boredom I’ve been looking for a job since November of 2012. I have had SEVEN interviews. S-E-V-E-N. Siete. Sette. Sept. Some of them were really interested in me but I didn’t have the education, one of them I completely bombed on, one accepted (which I will get to in a minute), the others….They just didn’t work out.

The job I did accept was a part time gig. It was for a breastfeeding hotline. I was going to work every other Sunday for 12 hour shift. From 8am-8pm. The great part about it is I could work from home. But at the ninth hour, that didn’t pan out either. I have a lactation education certification and not a lactation counselor certification. *rolls eyes* What’s the dang difference? Well it was enough for me not to get that job either.

So that was the universe way of giving me my time. Sure I work FT, I am a mother of a 3 year old, and I am a wife, and also a student……but for whatever reason I felt like I needed to document this point in my life.

Started from the bottom….yet I’m still here.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

