Coming From Where I’m From

So what’s the point of this blog?

I wanted to use this blog as a way to get my feelings out about starting up a non-profit. Writing has always been cathartic for me so hopefully this will help.  I am truly just in the beginning. I know NOTHING about running a business. I know nothing about where to begin. And the truth be told…I am scared out of my mind.  I NEVER thought in my 34 years that I would be here. Steady checks when working for someone else is comforting.  Especially when you have another mouth to feed and spouse that depends on you to pay bills. I don’t know how this is all going to work. I might fail but I might not.The fear of the unknown is debilatating. However the point is I need to try. I can’t continue to work so hard for a company who reaps my benefits and I receive nothing in return.  Its time to invest in myself. So I’m in business school. Reading a few articles and websites, putting ideas on my Pinterest board, setting goals for myself. I’m doing this one step at a time.

Why do I want to start a non-profit?

I have worked in Maternal and Child Health for almost 6 years. Our underprivileged and under served population are so uneducated about pregnancy and the child birthing experience. In my city, they know about the benefits of breastfeeding but they don’t know about what to expect while breastfeeding. There are classes offered in these areas at local hospitals but they are expensive. I have a husband and a job and we still had to budget how we would attend a class. But it was the best thing we could have done as a couple. Noticed the key to those last statements are: husband, affordable, full time job. A lot of my clients don’t have the luxury to spend money on things. So that’s where the idea of starting non-profit for families who wish to attend a class or classes that covers child birth, post-partum care, breastfeeding, infant care, and infant CPR for little to no charge. Then eventually I want to be able to train health care providers in these subjects especially breastfeeding. So many of our doctors and nurses are so misinformed about breastfeeding. In turn, they are giving their patients wrong information which can deter a woman from wanting to do so. Sounds simple enough, right? I certainly hope it somewhat is.

Where did this idea originate?

I have always enjoyed teaching and spreading knowledge to people who wanted it. That has always been my gift. So I thought I wanted to become a professor at a university. But one day I was sitting in a training, and the facilitator talked in depth about her career. She traveled all across the country training health professionals about an umbrella of subjects under maternal child health. That’s when the light bulb went off. That’s what I should do. Especially since I am so passionate about these subjects and I am not really sure how I would teach that in a university setting without tons of credentials anyway. The idea wasn’t completely flushed out like it is in that previous paragraph. I just knew I wanted to teach something in regards to maternal child health. However that thought terrified me. So I put it out of my mind for year. I put it into the virtual universe via twitter. Got a few “you can do it responses.” Then I never revisited the thought again. But then came the failed job interviews and the rejection letters to a few school programs. So here I am.

*goes to the altar*

*crosses fingers*

*does a few Hail Marys*

We will see how this goes….

Leave a Reply

